New state laws designed to deter poaching of antlered bucks, especially those with trophy-sized racks, and to reduce recreational trespass are now in effect in Michigan.
The new laws make several changes to the fines and restitution payments for poaching deer, including a progressive penalty system:
• For any deer with or without antlers, the base restitution will be $1,000;
• For any antlered deer, there will be an additional restitution of $1,000 plus;
• For antlered deer with 8 to 10 points, an additional $500 will be assessed for each point; and
• For antlered deer with 11 or more points, an additional $750 will be assessed for each point.
A “point” is defined in the bill as being at least 1 inch long as measured from its tip to the nearest edge of the antler beam.
As an example, illegally killing a 10-point buck in Michigan will now result in a $7,000 restitution plus fines and court costs.